Calorie lesson

by keeprunningstrong

My usual runaway

Stefanie (my wife) snapped this picture of me, standing by the Santa Ana River before a run.

As the clock ticks, people age. Our stagnant bodies bloat. Until one day … we move.

Or at least this is what happened to me.

My Story:

High school graduation day signified an end to all hard work – no more math, history or science. The real world waited, and I yearned to just blend.

I found an office job, sitting, typing and staring at a computer screen. I ate without consequence. I ate without exercise – never opening my eyes to reality.

Bouncing from job to job, years later, I married and had a kid, forgetting about myself. I was unrecognizable. The days of my athletic high school build, of ambition and worth … vanished.

Years of emotional drain from lost jobs defeated me. Yet my wife and daughter provided the sanity.

I was on the verge of two chins. My stomach was flabby. And my thighs were trunks. I was ignorant of my image.

And after years of stagnant complacency – blind to the reflection in the mirror – a motivational fire sparked inside.

The repetitive doldrums of a sedentary lifestyle ate away at my happiness long enough. I needed to run again, to experience life, to feel alive.

How I accomplished this:

Talking with a wise in-law about life after age 30 and how our bodies change, he explained the details and horrors of … CALORIES.

No longer can I eat whatever I want. That’s for young kids. Now, calorie in-take is consequential.

In short, growing up requires new conscious food choices.

The most important tool:

My cousin showed me a free application for my IPod Touch called Myfitnesspal. The app stores dietary information that the user logs. It is a calorie counter.

The machine warns when I’ve reached my daily calorie limit. And at the end of the day, it gives me a glimpse of my possible weight in five weeks, restoring hope.

The results:

After a calorie conscious summer – running and enjoying life – I lost 40-45 pounds. I went from 210 to 168 pounds.

I was back to a healthy weight and vitality, attending college, avoiding inactiveness and most importantly … moving.

Along the way, I found this quote meaningful:

Destitutus ventis, remos adhibe

-Latin Proverb

